tomaszkozlowski Tomasz Kozlowski (email)

Tomasz received his Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering from Purdue University in 2005, where he worked on spatial homogenization methods for transport calculations, PARCS code development, RELAP5/PARCS and TRACE/PARCS coupling. From 2005 to 2011 he  worked at the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden on independent safety analysis of Swedish BWR power uprate. He joined the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in October 2011.

Graduate Students

Alvin Lee

Alvin is a PhD student with a focus on neutronics and thermal-hydraulics simulations of molten salt reactors. He received his Bachelor’s degree in Physics from the National University of Singapore before earning his Master’s degree from UIUC for work involving Multiphysics simulation of the Transatomic Power molten salt reactor. He is currently investigating the effects of density deviation and species transfer processes on the behavior of molten salt reactors for his PhD.

Roberto Fairhurst-Agosta

Roberto is a PhD candidate studying analysis methods for irradiation experiments and their enhancement via the application of machine learning.
He developed multi-physics methods for the analysis of HTGRs during his Master’s degree (UIUC), and Monte Carlo tools for neutron beams and guides of the RA-10 reactor for this Bachelor’s degree (Instituto Balseiro).

Harun Ardiansyah

Harun is a PhD student studying nuclear reactor analysis and design. His current interests include nuclear reactor safety analysis, code development, and power reactor noise analysis. During his master study at the University of Michigan, he has verified the PBMR-400 benchmark using monte carlo generated cross sections. He also analyzed preliminary safety analysis for Integral PWR design in his bachelor degree at Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia.

Connor Pig

Connor is a PhD student.

Wen Runxia

Wen is a PhD candidate under Professor Kozlowski. His focus is on analyzing uncertainty of reactor simulation caused by neutron cross section libraries.

Undergraduate Students

Silvana Tabares-Burgos

Silvana is an undergraduate student, currently working on HTGRs safety analysis.She will be starting graduate program in 2023, focusing on HTGRs at the University of Illinois. Neutron and diffusion transport is her favorite course. She is part of the Women in Nuclear Chapter executive board.

Bella Pequette

Bella is a undergrad in her sophomore year of undergrad in the NPRE Department (UIUC). She is a new addition to the team, and is currently making progress in independent research on HTGR’s, as well as coding programs used in ARTS. As well, she is a Public Engagement Officer on the UIUC MMR Project, advocating for the benefits of a test reactor on campus and in the community.


Guojun Hu, at Argonne National Laboratory
George E McKenzie IV, at Los Alamos National Laboratory
Travis Mui, at Argonne National Laboratory
Majdi Radaideh, at Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Daniel O’Grady, at Argonne National Laboratory
Chen Wang, at Capital One
Katarzyna Borowiec, at Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Xu Wu, at Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jianan Lu, at at Tsinghua University
Seongpil Yum, at Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
Youngmin Jo, at Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
Bruno Miglierini, at Research Centre Rez
Xin’ouwen Ye, at Tsinghua University
Rijan Shrestha, at Intel Corporation
Hanjoo Kim, at Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
Azamat Khassenov, at Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
April Novak, at University of California, Berkley
Chris Keckler, at University of California, Berkley
Rabie Abu Saleem, at Jordan University of Science and Technology
Jinsu Park, at Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
Won Kyeong Kim, at Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
Jonathan Rolland, at Exelon Corporation
Cem Bagdatlioglu, at The University of Texas at Austin
Josh Bradley, at Flowserve Corporation
Simon Johansson, at Chalmers University of Technology
Rickard Magnusson, at Chalmers University of Technology
Arthur Talpaert, at CEA Saclay
Rui Lin Tan, at Stanford University